Daily Archives: May 9, 2008

Stinkin’ Shin Splints!

I was doing so good going to the gym and working out and then all of a sudden I started getting shin splints! How frustrating!  I took a break for like three weeks and it’s still sticking around. I’ve done little workouts this week like walk/run intervals, or just walking around the park. Yesterday I made it through 1 whole mile! Yey! It hurt but I just kept running and after a while it felt better….maybe b/c the muscles had warmed up or something.

I’ve been bummed b/c I really like to go to Kickboxing class on thursdays and that just hasn’t happened for like the past month.  I was reading up on shin splints on the handy dandy world wide web, I read that having flat feet can put more strain on the muscles and therefore make you more susceptible to it…..yep, that’s me! Having some pancake flat feet has been my life long issue.

I even wore little orthopedic boots when I was a little girl….no, not the ones with the big cable things on the side of the legs! Those were just funky, thank you Jesus I didn’t need those! I’ve dealt with leg pain and pain on my feet since I was little, but I’m thankful to God that he has given me legs and feet that work!

For a second I thought I needed to get new tennis shoes, but I was inspecting my tennis shoes and they don’t look worn out or nothing. I’m planning to go to this running store where they do some sort of test on how you run and tell you what type of shoes are best for your feet.  Maybe they can suggest a good insert or tell me if maybe I need new sneakers. 

If there is anybody out there that has any suggestions for me by all means help a sister out!

 

2 Comments

Filed under Health, Life