Crazy Yoga Class

Thursday night I decided to go to a yoga class at the gym.  I like doing yoga because it releases built up tension in my neck and shoulders.  On the schedule it said that it was for levels 2 and 3 but I didn’t think it would be anything too crazy…..little did I know!  This yoga class was intense! It wasn’t hot yoga but the temp in the room was pretty warm.

Right from the start we started doing a series of poses that were more difficult than what I’m used to.  The instructor was using the sanskrit names for the poses rather than the english names….I promise you it almost sounded like she was speaking in tongues! 🙂 I was trying to keep up and trying not to laugh b/c I felt so awkward.  

She kept talking about the “unuarawanda”…I’m sure I didn’t spell that right, apparently the unuarawanda is like your core or stomach or something. I figured that b/c she kept pointing to the stomach region and telling us to hold it in.

The pic above is one of the poses we did in class…..or I should say others did in class b/c I was just chillin’ on my mat while they were doing this!  I just found out that it’s called the “plow pose”.  We also did this one thing where we were laying on the front of our legs holding our selves up with our arms, I think that’s called cobra, from this position we were suppose to swing our legs through underneath us and end up in a sitting position….I still can’t figure out how that lady did that. I looked like a big goof walking my legs around b/c that swing thing just was not happening!  There were also a couple of poses where our hands were supposed to be the only thing holding us up off the floor…..yea, I couldn’t do those either.

Well, my crazy yoga class was a heck of a workout! My body is sore and I’m glad I went.  I’m not sure I’ll be going back to it anytime soon, I think I need to stick to my beginner yoga level for a while!  Any body ever had a crazy yoga class experience? I would love to hear about it.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Crazy Yoga Class

  1. mom

    I would love to do Yoga oneday.What is the beginners class like??

  2. Arelis

    I really enjoy the beginners class….I can actually keep up in that one.

  3. Umm….Is something wrong with your blog, you haven’t posted since May????

Leave a comment